top of page

2nd Email for this week

Hey y'all,

I have been having a great time so far in the MTC, today is the first full day. I have heard the days are long, but they get better. Yesterday, when I first arrived, they placed my name tag on me which was super cool! After that, we went to a meeting with the MTC presidency as well as a member of the seventy who just so happened to be there because he was in town to help set apart the new 144 Mission Presidents who have recently been called. He was asked if he wanted to speak to us (new, first day missionaries).

My companion is great, his name is Elder Patterson and he is from Idaho. He and I got along really well right off the bat. He seemed very nervous at first and I think me not being nervous at all just helped him get calm. I can't wait to get to know him better during the next 11 days. He is also going to the Colorado Colorado Springs Mission. Kinda funny story: I was the first one in the room and I put my stuff down and went on to the classes we had. That night, my companion and I went back to our room and there was no one else there. The rooms are set up to accommodate 6 elders (or sisters) and my companion and I get a room to ourselves while the other elders in our district, (6) are all in one room. It is kinda nice because we actually get "quite time" at night and we don't have other elders in our room keeping us up.

We learned a lot yesterday about "People and My Purpose". We had the opportunity as a class to teach 3 "investigators" yesterday. It was a lot of fun and we had a very spiritual experience with one specifically. Her name was Hely and had a daughter with cerebral palsy. We helped her to find peace and comfort in her life and with her daughter. The spirit was so strong during that lesson and we actually got on the ground as a class (about 50 elders and sisters) and said a prayer with her to help her find peace and help her to know what to do with her daughter.

Today we have another class which is an extension to that first class, "People and My Purpose."

Yesterday my companion and I just kinda sat back and took notes in the classes, but today we have made a goal to participate a lot more and learn by speaking instead of notes.

Tonight, we will meet our branch president. (Basically our bishop) He is going to interview us and give us assignments as he sees fit. (Such assignments include zone leader, district leader, STL) Sometimes there are more than one of the assignments listed above.

I have learned a lot in just the first day. I love the gospel, I love the Book of Mormon.

Day 1. Check. 11 Days to go in the MTC.

Keep it Real!

Love,

Elder Soller


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page