top of page

Faith to Endure

Hey Everyone!

This week was great, Elder Hughes, Elder Liptrott and I have gotten a lot of work done and had fun along the way! Elder Hughes is leaving tomorrow and I will be with Elder Liptrott for the upcoming transfer. This is his last full transfer, he has 3 weeks left after this transfer ends then he is headed back to Manchester, England. We have several less actives we are working with and we 3 progressing investigators. We read a lot with the people here. We have 2-3 nights a week where we regularly do a scripture study with different people. There is one less-active who loves cars, he currently has 38 cars and loves demolition derbies. He has one arm but is super fun to be with. We are trying to get him back to church.

This transfer so far has been great because my previous companion didn't really like to work out, and Elder Liptrott does. We have worked out every morning since I have been here (except Sunday) and I feel a huge difference in my days when I do that. This town is very small - about 700 people but it is incredible. The people here in the San Luis Valley are very nice and caring, always willing to lend a hand. I can't wait for what the next 6 weeks hold for me.

There is a town near me called Manassa and on Pioneer Day they have a fairly large party. In fact the party is several days long. The town goes from about 1000 to around 10,000 just for this event, it's incredible! I hope I am here next transfer so I can go to that! Elder Liptrott and I are planning to take a long bike ride to the mountains on a P-Day soon. Super stoked for that! La Jara is in the San Luis Valley so I am surrounded by mountains and I am at about 7600 feet which is about 6300 feet higher than Georgia!!! Let's just say running is a little difficult out here. However, I keep running because I love it so much!

Spiritual Thought:

This week I have been thinking a lot about a man by the name of John Rowe Moyle. Here is a link to a video about him. https://www.lds.org/media-library/video/2010-07-140-only-a-stonecutter?category=feature-films&lang=eng#p3s:27020&p3e:836880

The video starts off saying how there are two types of people in the world: those who are acted upon and those who act. John came to America from England after reading an anti-mormon article. It grabbed his attention and he decided to learn more, he was taught by the missionaries and agreed to be baptized on the first lesson. He became part of the first handcart company to cross the plains in the Ellsworth Handcart Company. He was called to be a stone cutter for the Salt Lake City Temple. His property was 22 miles from the Temple and he woke up at 2 am on Monday so he could have enough time to walk and be to the temple by8 am. He would then travel home on Friday after all the work was done. On Saturday, he would do all the farm work. He did this for almost 20 years. One day he came home early from the temple to help out with chores when he got a compound fracture and had to have his leg amputated, he made a peg leg. He began to pack for Salt Lake to comtinue working on the temple, when asked why he had to go, he responded, "I don't recall being released as a stoneman, do you?"

Despite his peg leg, he continued on to Salt Lake on foot to fulfill his calling because that was what the Lord had called him to do. He limped the 22 miles and climbed 100 feet to fulfill his calling.

He was the one that carved Holiness to the Lord on the Salt Lake Temple.

​His dedication to what the Lord commanded him to do is incredible. I think the quote from last week is very fitting here. "I hope to be like my shoes, worn out in the service of my God." I hope that one day I can ​become someone like that who acts and is not acted upon. I feel that I am doing better every day, but I have a long way to go still. Faith is so powerful and I believe it is so simple yet so often misunderstood - maybe not misunderstood, but not fully comprehended. Faith is so much more than we all believe it to be.

I know Christ lives and is my Savior. I am so grateful for him and all HE has done for me. This is the true gospel and I know it! I am so grateful to be a servant of the Lord helping people come closer to Christ. I thank you all for your e-mails and support. If there is anything I can do for any of you or any questions you may have, please let me know!

Please watch the video and let me know your thoughts on it. Let me know what you think, what you felt during the video.

levi.soller@myldsmail.net

I love you all! Check out my blog, my aunt is doing an incredible job!

Blog: www.levisoller.wix.com/mission

​Picture:

La Jara scenery ​

​(More picture to come next week, I promise!)​


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page