top of page

"I'll Be What You Want Me To Be"

This week was incredible!

We have been working our tails off. I love this area. It's difficult, but it's worth it.

Monday: we played sports on the High School field which I can see out our back window. The Westcliff Elders came to join us for P-Day because well... there was a really bad fire in Westcliffe. Well the fire wasn't there, but the smoke was really bad. They came up for the day and then we're told to stay here then got permission to go home Wednesday afternoon. Monday we went to see a member of the church by the name of Sister Firedancer. She has lived in many Indian reservations all over the United States and most of the missionaries in the mission know about her. I am happy to say that I received my spirit animal - my spirit animal is a horse. It was crazy how little I told her and how much she could tell me about my life and even a little about my thought process. She is super nice and loving and only wants to help others understand life more fully. She said I am a horse because I love to run and I love to run in mind, I like to think things through - essentially I like to think. I also have a power within me I have to learn to use for good. She said a lot more but I don't remember - maybe I will ask her more once I see he again. Anyway it was super cool. I love horses and this just makes me want to own some even more than I already did in the future. Haha.

Tuesday: we had a lesson with John and it was great, he is still reading the Book of Mormon and doing well. He has been taught by missionaries a lot over the past few years and we decided we were going to re teach all the discussions and take it slower and really focus on each point.

Wednesday: We focused more on trying to see people who haven't been seen by the missionaries in a while, turns out, a lot of them have moved. Despite this inconvenience, this gave us an opportunity to talk to more people.

Thursday: I had the opportunity of giving two blessings to people. One is a sister missionary in my district who has been sick with bad congestion and the second was a lady who is in Belize and is getting married in the next 2 weeks - she had a shot in her knee that got really inflamed later than it was supposed to. What a great opportunity. We also had the opportunity to meet with a man by the name of Max. He has not been to church in a while, we had a lesson with him after just stopping by and we were able to learn about him as well as some god

His past experiences that were keeping him from church. (Or were in the past) He had a very bad back injury that compressed his spine and he also has splints in his arm as well as leg problems from this injury. He felt our surprise visit was a call to action for him for him to come back to church and to fulfill his duties. If you all remember, in my first area, I promised a lady a blessing that if she came to church, while she was at church, she would feel no pain in her foot. She didn't come. I promised Max a similar blessing. I felt strongly prompted to promise him a blessing that he would feel no pain while he was at church. Well, Sunday came around and we went to our morning meeting and we felt prompted to go show up at his house and invite him to come right there. We got a ride from a member and we stopped by, asked him to come right then and he got in his car, followed us to church and came! I saw tears from his eyes during the meeting. I know he was touched by the spirit and felt no pain and I hope he keeps coming.

Friday: we had district meeting where we discussed the Christlike Attribute of humility as well as discussing people we are working with and how we can help them come closer to Christ. We also discovered many more people who don't live at the address we have anymore! Saturday we saw John again and were able to discuss with him The Word of Wisdom as that is what he was interested in learning about. We are going to start the discussions with him this week. Sunday we had our morning meeting and then of course, Max came to church. We then had dinner with Billy and Jamie who are a very nice couple. Jamie has been through the temple but Billy has not. He is going to the temple Nov. 5 to observe the baptisms so that will be incredible. I am so excited for him. We received a lot of people we can visit from our morning meeting.

 

Spiritual Thought:

This week I have been studying Charity more however, I want to discuss a hymn. "I'll Go Where You Want Me To Go" I have noticed on my mission that the hymns we sing in church usually have a greater meaning to me and I usually get something out of them every Sunday. The lyrics are this:

​"​

1. It may not be on the mountain height

Or over the stormy sea,

It may not be at the battle’s front

My Lord will have need of me.

But if, by a still, small voice he calls

To paths that I do not know,

I’ll answer, dear Lord, with my hand in thine:

I’ll go where you want me to go.

[Chorus]

I’ll go where you want me to go, dear Lord,

Over mountain or plain or sea;

I’ll say what you want me to say, dear Lord;

I’ll be what you want me to be.

2. Perhaps today there are loving words

Which Jesus would have me speak;

There may be now in the paths of sin

Some wand’rer whom I should seek.

O Savior, if thou wilt be my guide,

Tho dark and rugged the way,

My voice shall echo the message sweet:

I’ll say what you want me to say.

[Chorus]

I’ll go where you want me to go, dear Lord,

Over mountain or plain or sea;

I’ll say what you want me to say, dear Lord;

I’ll be what you want me to be.

3. There’s surely somewhere a lowly place

In earth’s harvest fields so wide

Where I may labor through life’s short day

For Jesus, the Crucified.

So trusting my all to thy tender care,

And knowing thou lovest me,

I’ll do thy will with a heart sincere:

I’ll be what you want me to be.

[Chorus]

I’ll go where you want me to go, dear Lord,

Over mountain or plain or sea;

I’ll say what you want me to say, dear Lord;

I’ll be what you want me to be.

​"​

​We sang this hymn in church on sunday. It really touched me about the BECOMING part. ​"So trusting my all to thy tender care."​

I know that a huge part of becoming is simply trusting in HIS plan for us.

Elder Luker and I

Family from Pueblo West

(I don't have a picture yet of me with Elder Faletau, but it is coming.)

Warmest Regards,

Elder Levi Snow Soller

"When there is no enemy within, the enemy outside can do us no harm."

-African Proverb


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page